I am being subjected to serious amounts of comment SPAM. Last night there were 205 of them from a single author in India, who is selling "Cialis." The spammer's IP address -- 61.247.228.224 -- is in New Delhi. As a public service I am also providing the contact information (obtained from APNIC) for the registrant of the company name listed in each of the 205 loathsome comments:
What is it about this damned "Cialis"? Why is it everywhere? I entered the word in Google, which yielded 3,240,000 hits.
Naturally, such a large Google figure over a very stupid word aroused more than my hackles; the data aroused my curiosity. I decided to do a poll, and see how "Cialis" stacked up against some well-known entries. The results, ranked by size, contain a number of surprises (remember, the following are all out-ranked by CIALIS):
What does this mean to me? At the rate I'm going, I may have to turn off all comments, because MT-Blacklist just isn't stopping the SPAM. But I don't want to do that, because I enjoy getting serious comments.
Maybe I should pray....
UPDATE: My prayers may have been answered. Dean Esmay points out that there's a new version of MT-Blacklist.
Hmmmmm.....
(And I am in the middle of upgrading this blog....)
MORE: I notice in today's news that art museums are now getting gratuitous penis spam -- in the form of exhibits! (Maybe I shouldn't take it so personally.)
posted by Eric on 06.10.04 at 08:38 AM
TrackBack
TrackBack URL for this entry: http://classicalvalues.com/cgi-bin/pings.cgi/1072
Comments
Okay, maybe I'm missing something ... but why does your link for "Moon God" turn up a google search to James Madison??
VIAGRA yields 12 million Google hits. But everyone has heard of Viagra, which is not only a SPAMMER item, but also a common public topic. What bothers me is that this annoyance -- Cialis -- is insignificant and unknown to most people, yet takes up so much Internet bandwidth.
Funny to see Dean Esmay here. I just came from Dean's World, and right away I see a link back to him and I see him commenting here. It really is Dean's World!
And what is this damn Cialis? Mate, I checked this site and has no word as Cialis on it.
And the registrant is also someone else. Remember, before you post any information, make sure you are correct. Since this domain is not owned by anyone by that name and has no Cialis on it. What are you trying to interpert?
Roger · June 29, 2004 02:31 AM
"Roger" is in New Delhi himself, and clearly is either on the side of the spammer or is the spammer himself. The world would be a better place without SPAMMERS.
As to dentalclinicsindia.com. the registration has been changed. My information is not only correct, but I suspect "Roger" knows more than he allows. Hiding behind bonanzatech.com is pretty lame.
Okay, maybe I'm missing something ... but why does your link for "Moon God" turn up a google search to James Madison??
Just curious ...